Program Committee
Call for Papers
Ph.D. Forum
iPhone App
Conference Location
Hotels & Local Info

Ph.D. Dissertation Forum Final Program

The final program for the PhD Dissertation Program consists of 14 graduate students from around the globe.

[PhD Forum Participants]

Each student will make a presentation on their dissertation topic, highlighting the reserach objectives, motivations, methodology, and expected contributions. Following the presentation, a panel of distinguished judges will ask questions and evalutate the work. The jury consists of

Prof. Dan Dailey (Univ. of Washington)
Prof. Klaus Dietmayer (Univ. of Ulm)
Dr. Uwe Franke (Daimler AG)
Prof. Sergiu Nedevschi (Tech. Univ. of Cluj-Napoca)
Prof. Fei-Yue Wang (Univ. of Arizona)

Call for Abstract and Participation: Ph.D. Dissertation Forum

The IEEE Intelligent Vehicle Symposium (IV 2010) brings together top researchers in academia and industry to discuss advances in intelligent vehicles and infrastructure. The program committee is very excited to introduce the Ph.D. Dissertation Forum. Ph.D students can present and discuss their work with distinguished researchers in the field and receive valuable feedback while conference participants can learn about interesting academic work in progress. The forum will consist of a poster session preceded by a short oral presentation of the work (3-4 slides) and a panel discussions with world experts on the research and application potential.

Participation in the forum is competitive and selection will be made based on a submitted abstract. All submitted abstracts will undergo a review process. Decisions will be made based on technical merit and innovation as well as their potential to stimulate interesting discussions and exchange of ideas at the conference. The abstract should include the research objectives and motivation, expected contributions, and details of the intended approach and methodology. Be sure to cite related and relevant references for claims of originality and novelty.  

Submission Instructions for Abstracts:

Interested students are encouraged to submit an extended abstract (2 pages) in PDF format that follows the IV regular-paper formatting guidelines. Please refer to the IV regular-paper submission instructions for details. (http://cvrr.ucsd.edu/iv2010/authors.htm)

All submissions should be emailed to b1morris@ucsd.edu.

Final Submission Instructions for Authors:

The PhD Forum will take place on Monday June 21 at 4:00pm. Each student will be given 8 minutes to present followed by 2 minutes of questions from the judging panel. The presentation should highlight the motivation for the dissertation research, the anticipated approach to the problem, and the expected contributions. The list of participants can be seen here: [PhD Forum Participants].

The final submission for inclusion in the PhD Dissertation Forum consists of the following three items:

1 Camera Ready Abstract - 2 pages using the IV style [LaTeX] [Word]. See the example files for heading information [tex] [pdf]
2 Presentation Slides - Approximately 5-6 content slides for a 10 minute overview presentation of the dissertation work.
3 Support Letter - Letter from your advisor supporting your presentation at the forum. Use the template provided with appropriate modifications [txt] [pdf]

In order to ensure a smooth schedule, we ask the presenters to submit their presentation a before the conference. We will have the presentation on a single computer to avoid delays in transitions between speakers. Please note during submission if there are videos that are also included to ensure they play properly.

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline - April 20, 2010
Notification of acceptance -
May 1, 2010 May 11, 2010
Camera ready abstract - June 7, 2010
Presentation Slides - June 11, 2010 June 16, 2010
Ph.D. Dissertation Forum - June 21, 2010
Conference dates -
June 21 - June 24, 2010

Further Information

For questions and clarifications, please contact the IV 2010 Ph.D. Dissertation Forum chair: Brendan Morris (b1morris@ucsd.edu)

Ph.D. Dissertation Forum Committee

Thao Dang (Daimler)
Shinko Cheng (HRL)
Brendan Morris (U.C. San Diego)